The lemon law was created to protect consumers in the scenario they purchase a defective product. It holds the manufacturer or warrantor accountable and obligates them to make it right.
California is home to millions of drivers. Not only do most residents face annoying levels of congestion and traffic, but many people also commute in defective cars that pose threats to themselves and those around them.
You never know when you might wind up behind the wheel of a faulty vehicle. Fortunately, there’s a law that protects you against shoddy manufacturing: lemon law consumer rights.
California lemon law (the Song-Beverly Consumer Warranty Act) was established to hold manufacturers accountable for producing (and selling) flawed vehicles. At Cline APC, our lemon law lawyers educate clients on California lemon law and their rights – and guide them through the entire process.
Your manufacturer may owe you compensation if your car meets the following California lemon law qualifications:
The vehicle manufacturer has made at least two or more attempts to repair a warranty-covered defect; or
The vehicle has been out of service for more than 30 days while being repaired for warranty-covered problems; and
The vehicle has several warranty-covered problems, which were not caused by abuse of the vehicle and that impair its use, value, or safety.
It’s important to note that there is a time limit for seeking compensation from the manufacturer under California lemon law. Your vehicle’s defect must first occur – and be reported – within the defined terms of the warranty.
Despite the common misunderstanding, your vehicle’s issue does not need to be addressed within the first 18 months after purchase or before the odometer reaches 18,000 miles.
However, if the problem(s) does arise before these limits, you’ll have a basis for a much stronger lemon law case.
When your vehicle meets California lemon law qualifications, you’re entitled to:
Complete coverage of your lemon law lawyer’s fees and court costs via the manufacturer.
A full refund of the original acquisition price of the lemon car and incidental costs.
A replacement vehicle if necessary
You may even be entitled to a civil penalty damages for the warrantor’s bad behavior.
cars registered in Kern County
As Californians, we understand that having a car is essential for everyday activities. From getting to work and running errands to visiting friends and family, having a working vehicle is a necessity for most of us.
That’s why we make it a point to work quickly through the California lemon law buyback process. We want to get you fair compensation quickly so you can get back on the road in no time – behind the wheel of a safe vehicle, not a lemon car.
No one likes being passed off to assistants during the car lemon law process. Unfortunately, many clients wind up speaking to more non-lawyers than they do lawyers. At Cline APC, we think this is unacceptable. Every client in our firm receives the highest level of attention and personalized care.
Keep in mind, big auto manufacturers have access to the best legal defense. If you want to obtain a good lemon law buyback value or replacement vehicle, you need a team of lemon lawyers in California that can compete.
All Cline APC attorneys are passionate about standing up to big corporations that don’t treat customers fairly. We regularly represent consumers in Bakersfield, as well as up and down the 99 and in the San Joaquin Valley.
None of our lemon law lawyers are afraid to go up against powerful corporations – and we’ve done it many times before.
Consumers shouldn’t have to fork over money due to manufacturer negligence. We never ask our clients to pay upfront during the California lemon law buyback process. There are no retainer fees or contingency fees paid out of your buyback. Once we’ve prevailed, the manufacturer is legally obligated to cover these costs – so you never pay any out-of-pocket fees.
Our buyback calculator provides an estimated California lemon law buyback value. Please keep in mind that this is not a guarantee.
Call 888.982.6915 for a precise estimate and an explanation as to how lemon law in California applies to your case. You can also fill out our Free California Lemon Law Case Evaluation form.
The process of filing a claim under the lemon law in California isn’t as daunting as it seems. These steps will help you submit yours quickly and easily.
Take Your Vehicle to a Manufacturer-Authorized Repair Facility
Hire a highly skilled Lemon Law Lawyer
If you are driving a pre-owned car in Bakersfield, you can still receive benefits for used cars under lemon law in California.
The vehicle can be processed like new if it was bought with a warranty or an implied warranty of merchantability.
According to California lemon law, dealerships are responsible for covering repair costs and providing a replacement or refund for the lemon. Legal fees are covered by the warrantor.
Per the law of buying used cars from auto dealerships, the “as is” clause should have been displayed prior to purchase. Your rights under California lemon law buyback for used cars indicate that you may not be eligible for benefits if the vehicle was bought “as is.”
Get in touch with our lemon lawyers in California the moment you realize your car is defective. We will provide a FREE consultation to help you get your full lemon law buyback value.
If you think your new or used car might meet California lemon law qualifications, please call or contact us online. You may also fill out the free lemon law California evaluation form to the right of this page – and our lemon law lawyers will contact you shortly.
The office’s founding partner will speak with you directly about your potential lemon law case and provide a free legal consultation. Even if your vehicle does not qualify under the California lemon law, we will help you gain a greater understanding of the California lemon law buyback value and lemon cars.